In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is pretty common that small scale businesses are now shutdown as the customers prefer to visit super stores for their purchasing. Although there are certain positives of this development yet I believe that it is a detrimental trend for local traders and cultures. Beginning with the major benefits of this development. First and foremost is the convenience for consumers. This is because shopping is a time-consuming and tiring task when people have to visit different stores for different things. However, in shopping malls all the stuff is available under the single roof which can save time and energy of buyers. For instance, Big Bazaar usually have grocery, costume, stationary, utensils and handloom all the things in a single store where people can buy as per their needs. Secondary, super store usually have alluring discount offers for their visitors which can be pocket friendly for them. These offers mostly compel buyers to visit shopping malls instead of local shops. Despite the above mentioned points, there are certain reasons to substantiate that this trend has myriad dismal consequences. Local Businessmen, indeed, are the main victim of this development as they have to lost their source of livelihood. This may result in closure of local businesses, which also lead to the poor economic condition of that region. What is more, it leads to the loss of local culture as super store mostly promote the sale of branded things. That is why, local craftsmen and their handicrafts are left abandon. If they have no sale of their handmade products, their art would be also lost. It would be a shock for the local culture. In conclusion, super stores are beneficial for the public because of easiness and discount, I, nevertheless believe that its downside cannot be ignored at the same time due to loss of culture and local traders.