The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe the most effective reform to mitigate environmental issues is to increase fuel prices for vehicles. In my opinion, while this is necessary for the short-term, education acts as the priority solution. Those who advocate the need for the increased cost of fuel often point to the immediate effect on the environment. People are often driven by costs so more expensive fuel prices can discourage them to commute with their vehicles, creating the demand for public transport. For example, Vietnam has been experiencing a rise in fuel for the past 3 months, and the locals are making the transition from private cars and motorbikes to bicycles and electric buses. Accordingly, this has resulted in a cleaner atmosphere and fresher air in big cities like Hanoi and Saigon. However, officials doubt the effectiveness of this approach because the rise has caused a lot of frustration for the citizenry. This is why I consider fuel increases can help improve the worsening environment for only a short period of time. A better solution calls for the urge to educate people about the long-term impact. Human activities have long been blamed for damaging the environment and there are many factors contributing to this. Toxic gases released by vehicles only account for part of the cause, while large-scale industries, deforestation and unsustainable farming are also the catalysts. If people were aware of the consequences that they made while operating in their fields, the environment would not suffer as it does now. Maybe instead of cutting down trees for residential housing, city planners can be more thoughtful by creating more green spaces for residents to live close to nature. In conclusion, increased prices for fuel can somewhat prevent people from using their vehicles for a limited time, but we need to work towards long-term reform. I think once we educate people to be more responsible in their areas, we already help the environment not to be seriously harmed.