In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Novels and TV shows based on crime are gaining popularity these days in many countries. This trend is arising because of an exponential rise in crime rate nowadays. I believe that this is a negative development as the increased exposure to crime stories assists criminals to generate and implement more crime ideas. I will discuss and analyze my point of view in detail in this essay. In the modern world, the readers of crime fiction and the viewers of crime dramas have increased noticeably. Despite the presence of the latest technological deterrents such as CCTV cameras, the rate of crime has risen significantly. This is intriguing people to read and watch crime scenes since these are answering their curiosity about how crime happens. A recent survey in Germany revealed that the proportion of people who watch crime movies in cinemas has soared by 30% from 2010 onwards compared to the audience of this genre of movies in 2000. In my opinion, exposing criminal activities in published, broadcasted or online media is negatively influencing the public. For instance, when people read or watch crime based stories, they get numerous criminal ideas. This is adversely impacting their minds and they unintentionally start thinking about criminal ideas. Studies have proven that some criminal-minded people often commit crime in times of financial trouble. I, therefore, consider that exposure to criminal stuff is hazardous for the healthy development of human brains. In conclusion, the crime shown in books and media is popular today because people want to know the depth of these matters due to a dramatic increase in criminal activities nowadays. I believe that the exposure to criminal stories is dangerous for people as they encourage more crimes in society.