Technology is making communication easier in today's world, but at the expense of personal contact as many people choose to work at home infront of a computer screen. What are the dangers are there for a society which depends on computer screens rather than face-to-face contact for its main means of communication

In this contemporary world, a majority of individuals use social media applications to speak to others rather than meet them in person and talk. Thus, today's society is dependent on computer screens for communication which will lead to many problems. Therefore, this essay will elaborate on this further. To begin with, it is hard for a person to express his feelings, ideas and thoughts in a few text messages when communicating with another person. For example, a recent survey done by Harvard University in the USA found that 90% of students find it difficult to date online as they don't know whether the messages sent by their significant other are genuine or not. Hence, almost the same proportion of couples who met online break up within 2 weeks compared to couples who meet up in person and openly communicate their feelings. On the other hand, when more people get accustomed to using computer screens as a main mode of talking to others it will adversely affect their social skills. This is because an individual needs to socialize with everyone in order to present himself confidently and express their thoughts and opinions to the members of the public. For instance, a recent study done by a Canadian university found that many juveniles who spend most of their time talking to their peers through social media platforms like Instagram or Snapchat are socially awkward when they meet up with new people physically. Another danger of depending on a computer screen for communication is that it will lead to health problems such as chronic backaches and weak eyesight. To illustrate this, a recent newspaper stated that the number of people who wear spectacles in Austria increased by 50% and the main reason for this is due to staring at their laptops for long hours. In conclusion, it is aptly clear from the aforementioned information that using a computer screen for communication rather than physical contact will lead to many misunderstandings, reduce one's social skills and also develop various health issues. Consequently, it is important to engage in physical communication rather than online to avoid the above problems.