‘Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are observed to have more negative effects than positive being more useful for the criminals than others. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the development of technology, the internet has become more closely linked to our daily life, some apps, such s Facebook and Twitter, have been used overly frequently. However, some people argue that the negative effect of the internet outweighs its positive effect. I don't agree with this statement, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, social network sites can widen our horizons and open our eyes. For example, Twitter is a great platform to access all sorts of latest news and information, which are essential for our studies and life. Besides, except for schools, those sites are great platforms to learn new knowledge. According to my own experience, I have gained some scientific knowledge from Twitter. Second, users can communicate with others through social network sites. It's commonplace that there are a group of people who are less confident and too sky to talk in real-life. However, with the advent of the internet, they can surmount this psychological obstacle by communicating with others on the internet. Take Tinder as an example. It is a well-known dating app; it addresses the issue of being unable to find a partner to a large extent. Some of us tend to be a bit shy in real-life; therefore, there are fewer opportunities to find a suitable partner for some users. Nevertheless, this app can help users to find their ideal boy/girlfriend. On the other hand, the internet has some drawbacks. First, it helps to increase the crime rate. For example, the internet scam is famous nowadays. Deceivers use those sites to make up some deceptions, such as lottery to lure users ' money. They pretend they are some sort of investors to convince you to invest some money on their fake websites. Once you really invest money, all your information will be stolen. Second, it's easy to visit some illegal websites now because of the internet. Take my own experience as an example. I have once accidentally visited a drug website; users could buy any kind of drug they wanted. I think such a phenomenon can damage the harmony of society adversely. In conclusion, the internet has its advantages and disadvantages; how to define it depends on the individuals entirely.