Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Certain people believe that replacing parks and gardens in the middle of the city with apartment blocks is the best way to lessen the time spent commuting to work for commuters. I firmly disagree with this viewpoint. In this essay, I shall decipher the drawbacks of replacing parks and gardens that would cause detrimental impacts on the environment as well as people. To commence with, parks and gardens are considered as lungs of cities. Although it is difficult for commuters to spend much time commuting to work, demolishing recreational places would not benefit them. For instance, when a park or garden is removed for the construction of any sort of building, it will create more traffic congestion in the area of construction. Eventually, this congestion will produce more carbon emissions in the air which leads to air pollution in the city. Therefore, replacing these areas with buildings does not assist commuters to reduce their commuting time to the job. Furthermore, playgrounds and gardens are common places for children and adults to spend their leisure time who reside in cities. If it is replaced by a flat or any kind of building, then they will be ending up in spend time in their homes. For instance, when the parks are replaced with by residential buildings then the majority of people would migrate to the middle of the city from other suburbs part of the city. Eventually, the city will become densely populated and it can lead to heavy traffic congestion during rush hours. Thus, it is not a great notion to remove parks and gardens which are located in the cities with flats. In conclusion, demolishing these recreational areas will have massive negative impacts on the surroundings as well as the population such as huge air pollution and traffic jam.