Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing controversy on the importance of keeping animals in zoos against leaving them in their habitats. While some people opine that this is beneficial for the animals, others, however believe that zoos should be shut down due to their harmful effects. This discourse will examine both views and argue in favour of the benefits. On the one hand, keeping animals away from their natural habitats can have devastating effects on the caged creatures. Firstly, their freedom are restrained. In other words, animals kept in captivity have limited freedom in contrast to the free movement they enjoyed in their natural territories. In addition, there is limited and irregular amount of food given to them as against the abundant supply of meat that the animals get when they hunt prey at their free will and time. For example, many zoos in Nigeria have a particular time and specific food that they feed the caged animals. As a result, most animals are malnourished and prone to illness. On the other hand, Zoos can help to preserve the endangered creatures by keeping them safe from threats. In other words, they are the safest place where wild animals can survive from dangers such as destruction of their habitats through deforestation and fear of being killed by poachers. Consequently, extinction of some species are prevented. In addition, the existence of zoos provide education to humans. A visit to the zoo can help people to learn more about the animals and their behaviour. For instance, an excursion to the zoos are organized for Nigerian students to acquire more knowledge on the anatomy and physiology of wild animals after being taught in the classroom. Evidently, this would have been impossible without the existence of zoological organisations. In my opinion, zoos should continue to be in existence due to their significant impact on both humans and animals when they are properly maintained and managed. In conclusion, although, it is argued that zoos are cruel and should be closed down, however, their benefits in protecting endangered animals and providing education to people cannot be overemphasized.