With a growing population, many countries believe that we should focus on producing gm foods. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Nowadays, people facing problems with population outbreaks. Thereby arising so many issues related to this, especially for food. That's why many people believe that genetically modified crops are used to tolerate the growing population. However, merits and demerits are there for the use of GM crops, which will be ensured the further paragraphs. First of all, genetically engineered or modified organisms are present in GM crops, which provide some positive effects on the plants. For example, Bacillus thurungenisis is a soil bacteria which have activity against some insects. So we isolated that gene from the organism and applied it to the cotton plants. So that they acquired the ability to resist that insects. On the other hand, some genetically modified plants have activity against plant pathogens, stress tolerance and herbicide resistance too.With the use of GM, crops there will be no infections caused by the plants and thereby getting a higher production rate and it will be helping modern civilization. Secondly, the cultivation of these GM crops will cause negative effects also. For example, some of them reduce soil fertility and cross-contamination. For example, we are cultivating herbicide-tolerant plants. the organisms present in that plant may affect or infects other unwanted plants. Besides, there will be a risk to the production of food also. If we are eating much GM food may affect some other health issues, which are not completely known. In conclusion, based on my opinion the government should focus on the research works related to GM foods crops and study all the related health problems. Then promote the production of GM food crops to tally population outbreaks.