Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays people live in the era of globalisation. One of the core consequences of globalisation is the creation of huge and fluent companies both in the internal and international markets, including the field of retail. Hence, this phenomenon leads to a decrease in the number of small shops. As for the pros of the process, the principal advantage is based on the liberalisation of international trade. It is precisely known that giant subjects of the market have a huge impact on national economics. For instance, large supermarkets have strong connections with the governments and equal companies from other jurisdictions. In this regard, such businesses have much more opportunities to broaden their commercial presence within the territories of several states and to maximise their profit. It allows to conclude the partnerships with other market players and make their policy more flexible to the consumer preferences. Despite that fact, such capacities are not common in the field, and these patterns seem to be exceptions in most cases. Thus, the mentioned issue has its own cons. First, globalisation extremely affects the local producers. The overwhelming majority of goods which may be found in the small shops come from the farmers or little mills. Obviously, this issue can be nullified by various preferences provided to local producers by hypermarkets. However, in this,case the profit of farmers will decrease because their products are among the huge amount of like products instead of being the only one. Furthermore, a small store can be defined as having its own spirit. Local stores have their own values, mostly oriented toward their consumers rather than the profit. In light of this, the quality of products in such places is tremendously higher than in the supermarkets. To conclude, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Large market players stimulate the growth of national economics and provide a huge variety of goods, while small shops are more oriented toward the consumers and can be determined as adaptive to people's will.