Today people are using the things and throwing or replacing it with latest models or latest fashion. Do the advantages of throwing away society outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, along with the increased productivity, the majority of household appliances' life cycle has been shortened. Some people believe such practice is not acceptable while others believe overconsumption behaviours facilitate the economic growth, Personally, I believe abandoning products simply because it is outdated is not appropriate for the following reasons. Admittedly, overconsumption increases market demands for products and generates tens of thousands of job opportunities. However, excessive consumption can lead to heavy environmental pollution. For example, a recent study reveals that nearly half of air pollution comes from the manufacturing industry. The fabrication of plastic products combined with fossil fuel burning produces tons of toxic gas. Consequently, the living quality of residents nearby factories has been significantly undermined. In addition, industrial products also facilitate the depletion of natural resources. Given natural resources are very limited and valuable, it is necessary to maximise the social benefits of its byproducts. For example, the production of chips normally demands tons of minerals and complex processes of refining, not to mention the components of electrical products which have hundreds if not thousands of customised chips and batteries. It is safe to say that if we don't put in place some limitations on production, we are on the verge of using up all the valuable natural resources. In conclusion, irrational purchase behaviours are not recommended in such a circumstance given its impacts on air pollution and natural resources.