Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be take into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these view and give your own opinions.

This is an arguable topic on how to determine the punishment in a proper way. Some people might say that a fixed penalty can make people aware of what will be happened, which could be identified as a one-size fit solution. In contrast, some people suggest that penalty should be considered with other factors. Let us illustrate my perspectives in the below paragraphs. To begin with, using a fixed punishment for a particular type of crime that makes us remember rules need to be obeyed in order to minimise possible accidents that might have occurred. Thus, fixed punishment could be used on large scales of people, who can remember rules and regulations to ensure that society can run smoothly. For example, driver's license learners need to study well, which is included regulations and penalties that might have occurred. Hence, it would make learners will pay extra attention to accidents that could be happened. On the other hand, the variable cost of punishment might need to apply to a complicated case. When the case is far more complicated than car accidents, which needs to understand the reason behind why the accidents have happened. In conclusion, I agree to have a mixture of fixed and variable punishment that is well-designed for the sociality. The fixed penalties can let people, who need to obey the rules and regulations that can minimise accidents might have happened. Moreover, considering motivation for an individual crime that is provided an opportunity for people to understand why the accident has happened. Although, accidents could be hard to prevent, a well-designed punishment system can make people feel that they live in a fair system society.