Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite common these days that a large number of museums charge entrance fees though others are free. I believe that the beneficial effects of the former are more than the drawbacks. An advantage of charging museums entrance fees lies in the fact that it may make up the losses from their operating activities. For instance, running a museum requires a large amount of money for many items, such as staff salaries, facilities maintenance, and utility fees. Without decent incomes, the museums therefore could not balance their costs. In this case, the government probably have to sponsor them to continue their operation. Thus, there would be an increase in the burden on the government's budget, which has to spend on lots of other necessary national activities, such as education, healthcare and development infrastructures. The most viable drawback of the museum's admission fee is that it creates a hindrance for people who want to visit them. People may visit fewer museums when they can watch more if they are free. For instance, they may find other places that are more attractive than the museums and even free of charge, like shopping malls or community parks. As a result, people would lose chances to immerse in such an educative activity to understand their country's history, which is essential for patriotism. However, museum admission fees usually are small and they are probably not worth consideration for those people who would like to know about their country. In other words, they may even prepare small research in advance for the most use of their trips. In conclusion, the positive impacts of charging museums entrance fees outweigh the detrimental effects in the case that they are small