Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

The notion of patriotism is somewhat controversy. Some people assume it as a totally negative, problem causing belief. However, others think that it can bring huge amount of benefits to society. In fact, there are a lot of drawbacks in this notion despite some positive impacts. Generally, patriotism contributes to the strength of a nation due to the fact that it makes a certain nationality together by encouraging the spirit of unity. Most of the countries have been established on patriotism foundation. Moreover, the more patriotic the citizens are, the more developments will be brought to the nation. This is because citizens use much of their strength and ability for the interest of their mother nation out of patriotism, making the country more powerful and prosperous. On the other hand, there are loads of disadvantages of patriotism outweighing the strengths. Firstly, descrimination is originally a part of patriotism, which puts a certain nationality prior in every sector and believes other nationalities are inferior. This could lead to violation of equality. Secondly, patriotism is an obstacle to the inflow of qualified foreign human resources into the nation. If the citizens were over patriotic, foreigners would not be satisfied in working in those countries. Last but not least, it is also a very dangerous notion, which can create national extremism and supremacism. These were a lot of crises happened out of extreme patriotism along the global history such as genocides and wars. Patriotism have been a necessary for society and it also has some advantages. However, it could also create considerable disadvantages and therefore, patriotism is a notion that need to be replaced by a better one.