Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly known that students need to pass exams to prove that they are ready to move to the next grade. We have noticed that the procedures of assessing students ' skills develop into new styles and techniques just to meet students ’ needs. I strongly agree with the new methods of assessing students ’ performance which is the continual assessment for some reasons. pupils might be talented in a field that does not meet in formal exams. as well as formal exams sometimes are not reasonable because of the amount of information that a student should cover to pass it. First of all, the number of students is enormous and each one of them is special in some way. one systematic way cannot fit all of them. for instance, a student who is smart in music might lack the basic skills needed to pass the math test. Furthermore, applying for formal exams that require certain skills will be an injustice for many students who are talented in totally different subjects. We cannot test a fish for flying skills. It is simply unfair exams if they will not put into their consideration the differences in students ' abilities. secondly, formal exams must of the time cover a very large amount of knowledge. As a result, students should memories all of the information. this requires time and effort for something that might not be used even in real life. For example, why it is necessary for students to study the multiplication table while in the future they will use an electronic calculator to add or subtract, and why they need to memorise the correct spelling for tons of words while in the practical life they can use spelling checker on computers. on the other hand, continual assessment can clearly reveal on students skills and abilities for practical life. To conclude, the new technics to assess students like coursework and projects are more effective to meet students ' differences. Actually with the development of life people tend to discover new methods to make their life much better. Above all, continual assessment meets students ' needs and expose their talents.