It is commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

Some argue that capital punishment is an efficient way to deter vicious offences, while others believe that a life sentence has a better deterrent effect. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I tend to agree with the latter. Admittedly, there could be some reasons why people support the death penalty and one might be it is the ultimate, irrevocable and irreparable punishment. It serves as an example for other would-be criminals and arguably deters them from committing heinous crimes such as murder or terrorist acts. By punishing those who have already carried out crimes, others may well be less likely to do the same or similar crimes if they do not want to lose their lives, suggesting it has a good deterrent value. Nevertheless, I think a life sentence has a better effect for two main reasons. Firstly, life imprisonment stricts districts prisoners' freedom and they cannot go out to commit crimes. Offenders live in prisons for lifetime and receive punishment by separating from their families and friends, not only potentially leading to them not posing a threat to others, but also generally making them think twice before committing an offence. Secondly, convicts can receive moral education and vocational training in prison. It gives them an opportunity to reshape their ethics and learn personal skills and specific job skills, which means they can work in prison and contribute to society like other normal people. In conclusion, although there are some effects that death sentences can provide, I still believe a life sentence is a better solution for the reasons above.