dating online is popular because of technology. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

The world is evolving due to the advancement in technology. Therefore, technology has made online dating possible to carry out. As much as there are merits to this trend, there are also certain drawbacks. Admittedly, there are a plethora of benefits to dating online. For one, it is time-saving. This is because all that is needed is to call and engage in conversations with each online through the use of mobile phones. In addition, it is also cost-effective. That is to say, it does not require spending money on transportation in order to see one another and as a result, lesser money is being spent. For instance, a friend of mine met her partner on Facebook who was in a different country when they met. They spent months dating and their means of communication were through phone calls and chatting on social media platforms. The first time they saw each other was a few days before their wedding which made them save enough money for moving from one place to another to see each other. However, there are certain pitfalls associated with this phenomenon. First, one can easily get duped. In other words, there are numerous individuals with bad intentions of scamming people. They show interest in one, lead the partner on and when they realise the relationship is going smoothly, they request money which they will not return and end up blocking the partner. Furthermore, there is a certain level of mistrust. This is common for people in an environment with a poor network. Their partner often thinks they are spending time with other individuals when they are not replying to messages or calls. For example, my sister met her ex-boyfriend on Facebook. Most of the time, he often complained of network issues. She thought he was lying, felt he was seeing someone else where he was and ended the relationship. In conclusion, dating online has the advantages of being less time-consuming and less expensive and the disadvantages in terms of getting defrauded and not trusting one another.