Some people believe that reading books is more worthwhile than exploring the internet. Others believe that the internet has made books redundant. Discuss both views.

In recent times, the spread of knowledge has gone far beyond the four walls of a library. While some feel that reading books are more rewarding than surfing the internet, others are of the opinion that the internet has made them irrelevant. In this essay, I will examine both views, though I personally feel that books are still valuable. There are many like me who believe that no screen compares to the physical touch of turning a page. The connection felt when immersed in the richness of a story is second to none. Research conducted by Harvard University states that those who read, rather than explore the internet, are more likely to retain about 45% more information as both the brain and body are in sync while reading. For such reason, reading in this age and time still holds much value. Despite this, others argue for two reasons; that the internet saves time and resources. Since the information gotten from there is at our fingertips, on our mobiles, it saves the time used to go to a library. Assuming that the book is ordered online, a reduction in scheduled shipping hours since we are able to search for the necessary info in real-time. Opponents also argue that, resources are channelled into something else as books can be costly. The price it takes to buy and ship it, for instance, is usually pricey. In conclusion, considering the ease technology has brought to our lives, it is understandable why some consider books redundant. Nonetheless, in my view, no amount of internet can replace the importance possessed by books.