Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether parents should influence their children to join group activities or keep themselves occupied without the help of others. I believe later will help them remain mentally stable. Parents who believe in encouraging their children to be involved in group activities may have assumed that their child will learn communication skills which could be one of the primary skills in personality development. This will assist them to not become socially awkward in front of large crowds or gatherings. For example, there are many dance classes organized for children, which will help them to not only learn dance but also make new friends. However, they shouldn't become too dependent on their friends to learn any new skill. It could happen that a child gets a habit of learning new things with a group only. On the other hand, others firmly think that their child should know how to keep themselves busy. This is because there could be a phase in their lives where they can be alone. If they don't know how to handle loneliness, they might eventually end up having a mental trauma. Therefore, I believe parents should teach their children to become emotionally stable when they are alone. If they become mentally disturbed by living alone, this might affect their health pretty badly. In conclusion, although joining group activities will help children to come out of social awkwardness, their primary goal must be to learn to live alone which will help them to survive in difficult situations.