Nowadays, a lot of information about medical conditions and illnesses is freely available on the internet. Is this a good thing or a bad thing for most people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, along with the development of internet technology, there is an increasing number of people who prefer to take advice from online professionals. Some people believe this is a positive practice because of its convenience while others believe unqualified medical specialists can undermine the efficiency of this system. Personally, I believe online medical consultation is a good thing and brings us a number of benefits for the following reasons. Admittedly, it can be very difficult to verify medical advice from online professionals due to the fact that people tend to be anonymous on their social accounts. Many criminals would take advantage of such a function to hide their identities when conducting crimes. They may make up fake qualifications and work experience in order to gain the trust of victims. Ultimately, they profit from stealing patients' personal information and giving it away to advertising groups. Finally, patients will suffer from countless harassment and financial losses. However, we shouldn't omit the contribution of online consultation. After several years of trial and trials, security experts come up with a series of measures to combat online scams. More importantly, such a form of consultation brings concrete benefits to people living in the regional areas. For instance, recent studies reveal that medical conditions in poor areas have greatly improved thanks to the internet. Nowadays, people can receive free medical advice from specialists in a timely manner. In conclusion, the advantages of online medical consultation outweigh its disadvantages. Even though, online fraud is rampant on the internet, increasing security measures are laid out to protect customers.