Question: Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

These days, the core topic of discussion is the increasing traffic jams and the subsequent environmental pollution as most vehicles burn fossil fuels. It is thought that increasing congestion, as well as environmental degradation, can be easily tackled by raising the price of petrol. In this essay, I will shed light on this topic and provide an overall opinion. Generally speaking, an increase in the price of fuels will definitely demotivate unnecessary driving. As it will increase the price of motor vehicles, people will not drive their cars without an emergency. For instance, the citizens will not use their private cars for less important reasons, say, family visits, outing purposes, and many more. As unnecessary driving falls, there is a great chance that there will be fewer motor vehicles on the roads than ever before. In this way, environmental pollution, for example, air pollution will surely be reduced. Therefore, a rise in the price of fossil fuels will demotivate unwanted driving and in turn reduce both traffic and pollution. Despite these measures, the authority can do two things to tackle growing congestion and environmental deterioration. First of all, the government can impose an automobile tax which will reduce the purchase of motor vehicles. For example, the introduction of a 20% car tax will surely affect the sale of cars. This means, there will be very few cars on the roads and that will absolutely knock down jams on the roads. Secondly, the administration can persuade citizens to modern environment-friendly vehicles, say, electronic cars. They can do this by arranging different training, seminars, and so on at the public level so that they can understand the benefits of eco-friendly motors. These can surely improve the environment a little bit. In conclusion, I must say the rise in the price of motor fuel will definitely reduce the congestion and pollution issues. In addition to these, automobile tax and the use of electrical cars will be more beneficial.