In recent years more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

People have different views on whether e-books represent the pioneers of the cultural revolution. Nonetheless, assuming the rampant growth of e-readers is a legitimate concern weighing up the pros and cons of this choice. To begin with, e-books depict the state-of-the-art technology that allow people to save money and the planet. In fact, the more readers will be converted to the use of tablets, the more paper will be saved. Trees are essential to guarantee a mild climate and reduce air pollution. What they do is take in CO2 and release oxygen, and their roots keep the soil farmable. Therefore, paper books are indirectly correlated to environmental issues. Moreover, the price of e-books is astronomically low compared to traditional ones. They do not require any manufacturing process but a tablet that will be purchased just once. Unfortunately, it is important to mention that they could be potentially hazardous for our sight owing to the brightness of tablets. Additionally, with the continued use of paper books, for many animals, there are more chances of extinction. In fact, most of them are on the brink of extinction due to deforestation. Therefore, in their natural habits, nowadays, they do not get access to the conditions they need to mate and reproduce. Their smell, however, has an inestimable value that e-books cannot replicate, and this is for many people something that they cannot relinquish. To conclude, I strongly believe that the benefit of e-books outweigh their drawbacks. Not only do they save money, but they also save the planet from deforestation and extinction of animals.