In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they like. To what extent should children have to follow rules?

One cultural difference between the west and east is the parenting style. In the East, most parents are straight and set a strict set of rules for children to follow. Whereas in the West, children have more freedom, they are less likely to be required to follow rules. In Asian countries such as Hong Kong, children have to follow more specific rules to be seen as good children. For example, when meeting their grandparents children are expected to greet them properly instead of just saying “hi”. This is a strength of following strict as children are more likely to develop manners. Since practice makes perfect, the more the children practice their manners the more polite they will become. However, strict rules of behaviour are not always positive. For instance, children may refrain from expressing sadness if they follow the straight rules. As a result, they may suffer from the inability to express their own emotions and speak up about their opinions. They may try to hide their own emotions as they do not want to be seen as a naughty child. In eastern countries such as the UK, children have more freedom. Instead of sitting in the classroom for the whole day listening to the teacher, they’re allowed to play. Furthermore, instead of asking them to finish the homework, parents allow their children to go to the park and have fun after school. One positive implication of having more freedom is that children are going to be happier and are more likely to express their own emotions. On the other hand, this may lead to behaviours such as lower concentration levels as children are not trained in homes or schools to stay still during class. Children may become too playful that they do not do school work. Although children who are given more freedom may become less attentive in class. To have a fruitful childhood, children should be granted freedom instead of following strict rules. In addition, too much control over children may create rebellious behaviours where the child acts extremely. In conclusion, children should follow some rules to some extent to develop their politeness, yet those rules should not restrict their freedom of expressing themselves.