People are living in a ‘throwaway society,’ using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Individuals reside in a culture of use-and-throw, utilising things briefly and then disposing of them. This essay will explore what are the causes of this practice and what issues it leads to. Nowadays, consumer culture prioritizes staying up-to-date with the latest trends rather than investing in durable things. The marketing strategy has created a sense of urgency and desire for new items with flash sales and limited-time offers, which is the key to changing the behaviour of consumers. For example, Chinese fashion brand like Shein capitalizes on this demand by delivering new designs of clothes at low prices, encouraging frequent purchases. Furthermore, technological advancements lead to the constant release of new products with improved features, making older models obsolete such as smartphones. This encourages a use-and-discard approach to goods, leading to unnecessary waste. The short lifespan of products contributes to environmental pollution as manufacturing requires significant energy and resources. some materials can cause deterioration and damage to all aspects of the environment, for instance, microplastics in textiles can, in the long run, contribute to ocean pollution which is harming marine life and ecosystems. Moreover, this perception can lead to waste management challenges. The volume of discarded items overwhelms waste management systems which leads to landfill overflow and inefficient recycling processes. In conclusion, marketing strategies and consumer culture are contributing to the cause of the use-and-throw practice. Consequently, it can lead to the challenge of managing the volume of waste and the recycling process, which also significantly contributes to environmental pollution which impacts marine life.