Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Where governments invest, their money is a crucial aspect. Some invest significant amounts of capital in their Olympics athletes to obtain good results like medals. Some think this money should be invested in a public health policy, and I completely disagree with this idea. Firstly, investing the capital, supposed to be for high-performance athletes, in programs encouraging the general population's health does not grant results. Moreover, spending considerable amounts encouraging people to be more active could not have any effect. For example, if this capital is invested in a campaign that tells the public to go out and exercise, some will do it, but others will not. In this case, this expense will be wasted. Secondly, keeping athletes winning gold medals in the Olympics can improve the general well-being of a community. There is a phenomenon that takes place when a big sports event takes place. For instance, when sports cups like Roland Garros started, people began to play more tennis. Additionally, winning a gold medal generates a similar phenomenon; therefore, it improves the population's health. Athletes become a very effective campaign if a government wants to improve the activeness of their population. In conclusion, I believe the money invested in high-level athletes should remain the same due to their labour as generators of interest in the sport. Also, spending this capital on other projects does not grant their success. Improving health is the government's primary role, and other strategies could exist.