In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? And it is positive or negative development?

Mostly employees end up working overtime to complete their role and responsibilities. There are multiple reasons, which are responsible for this. In my opinion, it has various disadvantages from both employee and employer side. To begin with, today we are living in a very competitive and fast-paced world. Where to fill out a position, there are many potential candidates available in global market. In an effort to work well and completing the workflow, workers end up working for extra hours, other than their normal scheduled hours. Moreover, recently introduced remote working concept in IT sector, education system and at various other places, where work from home is possible, has brought this concept of long working hours and even working on weekends and national holidays as well. Furthermore, sometimes laborer may face health issues due to working long time on daily basis. On the other hand, employer have to pay extra for overtime. The staff with great potential and dedication tend to switch their jobs very rapidly. Again, management has to give financial incentive to their staff in order to retain them in an organization. To conclude with, it is more harmful for the employees, as they cannot live a balanced life. They get cut off from their own family, socially isolated and medically unfit. In long term an organization can only grow when their workers are happy, satisfied and living a balanced personal and professional life.