Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Due to technological advancement nowadays, children consume their pastimes mainly on modern devices such as mobile phones. For their future aspects of life, we need to consider the advantages and disadvantages of having smartphones in our children ’s daily life. There are two main reasons why today’s generation uses most of their time on technical devices. Firstly, they grew up in the modern world. As a result, they have encountered the convenience of having a cell phone since they were born. Starting from education to entertainment, mobiles can perform various functions for the children ’s daily routine. Therefore, they become their everyday companions. The next reason is the working parents who do not have enough time for their children to play or read together. So, they have to put their children together with smartphones which can entertain the younger kids in multiple ways such as playing their favourite cartoons or reading the stories. Since this is an undeniable issue for children nowadays, we have to take consideration into the pros and cons of the development. From a positive point of view, children become more familiar with the technology and so they can improve their skills and knowledge in a short period. They can have any information or courses in a minute. They can create a larger social community across the world. On the other hand, this development can lead the children into the darker side of the community. They will become over-addicted to cell phones and lost in close society which can damage their connection with the outside environment. Moreover, we cannot ignore the health problems caused by the excessive use of mobile phones such as sore eyes. In conclusion, we cannot deny the fact that today’s youths spend most of their free time on smartphones since these devices make their everyday life easy and convenient. Though the advancement makes more positive effects on their daily lives, we have to control the limit of the time using mobile phones for kids because of the downsides of the technology.