Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider that technology has been used by criminals to break laws others think otherwise. This essay will look into both facets of this subject and I would argue that technology is to blame for the raised crime rate. Advanced technology can help the authorites stay abreast of the lastest information of the members of the community. Nowadays, people live in the era of big data.To put in another words, information of individuals, such as the living address, the occupation, the martial status and so on, is recorded in a big database, which law enforcement agencies have access to. For example, the police officer can search for an offender's profile to support an investigation rather than go to the field to gather information manually. This is beneficial to track down the criminal and crack a criminal case in a comparatively cost-efficient way. Consequently, it has a positive impact on social safety. On the other hand, there are also loopholes in technology systems that could be used by convicts to commit felonies. Bullying dose not only happen in real life in the modern world; Cyber-bullying has came to existence. For example, one of Netflix documentaries reported a cyber-crime on telegram in Korea. A group leaded by a man disguised himself as a "professor" ganged upon female victims including teenage girls to get their nude photos to be sold online for illicit money. The group was brought into justice in the end but cases like this still are going on in the world due to its convienience without enough lawful supervision. This leads to an increase in the crime rate. In a nutshell, technology advancement is a double-edged sword, the convienience of the technology has been abused by some people to become offenders although it benefits the social safety to some extent.