Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the importance of animals in the zoo. While some people agree with the idea of keeping wildlife in zoos, I believe that they should live free in their habitat. There are three main reasons why it could be argued that zoos are important both for entertainment and ecology. Firstly, zoos would be able to provide full protection for animals. They might be hunted or poached especially in a country where strict regulations are not implemented. Rare species, such as China pandas, Indian tigers and African elephants may be endangered in the wild. Extinction would happen if there is no protection for them. Zoos will provide protection as well as the continuity of the species. Secondly, it would be more efficient for people who want to have a closer experience with the wildlife. For example, people would not have to spend more money to travel to Africa to watch elephants. Consequently, the animal's original home would not be destroyed by visitors. Lastly, zoos will provide education for children who want to learn about wildlife and also research for scientists. However, I would agree with those who believe that living creatures should not be kept in zoos because it can be cruel for animals to be placed in small cages and limited areas. Some animals live in groups and this would hurt them. Apart from that, the fact is not all zoos are able to provide the best care for animals,especially in poor countries. Many animals were found dead and lack nutrition in some zoos in developing countries. In my opinion, it would be the best option if the animals live in their own habitat while protected. It would be the responsibility of governments by creating national parks. Animal sanctuary located in the national park is important to ensure the continuity of wildlife as well as provide facilities for research purposes. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that zoos would provide benefits both to animals and humans, my own view is that the best place for animals would be their own habitat where full protection was given by setting up national parks.