In Western Countries people spend a lot of money on their pets. They buy special food for cats and dogs, buy them toys and often pay high fees for medical treatment. Some people think this is a waste of money and argue that pets are dirty and dangerous. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet? Do people spend too much money on pets?

Pets are usually considered family members where owners are willing to spend a great amount of money on related fees and treatment. It is also arguable that others considered it a waste of time and find them dangerous. I do believe that the advantages do overshadow the disadvantages of having a pet. Firstly, it will cost a huge amount of time and monetary assets to take care of a pet which I consider the biggest disadvantage. For example, taking good care of a dog requires food for the animal and training it so as to not harm anyone. Furthermore, taking the dog for a walk to have its exercise does take up a great amount of time and effort. In addition, the medical bill for pets usually costs more than the bills for humans. In contrast to the disadvantage, pets have been helpful in our society. There are studies that showed owing a pet does help with emotional and mental health. For instants, dogs are trained to help people who have social anxiety and provide behaviour support. There are even well-trained guide dogs that help the blind. Likewise, as people treat pets as part of the family, spending money on pets is considered as normal as spending on one's children. In conclusion, it is a high price to pay in order to take care of a pet. It is also the owner's responsibility to pay such a price as there are more benefits to owning one.