Childhood obesity is becoming a problem thoughout the developed world . Because of this , some people think that adverts for fast food , sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this ?

Some people state that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should be banned in schools and colleges, because of the increased level of childhood obesity worldwide. As far as I am concerned, due to today's appropriate inappropiate unhealthy food adverts, children are less encouraged to have a healthy lifestyle. Additionally, regarding children's health, schools should do their best in order to point out the importance of having a balanced lifestyle. For instance, colleges can publish sports adverts in order to trigger pupils' interest in physical exercise. Besides, schools can introduce healthy treats to support children to choose a balanced lifestyle. Firstly, schools have to change students' perception of high cholesterol food by replacing the fast- food adverts with healthy ones. That's how they will manage to encourage children to do more physical exercise and eat low-fat food. Besides, teachers have to make sure that pupils are aware of the damage that may be caused by sweets and fast food in their bodies and try to persuade them to change their lifestyle. Additionally, physical exercise is vital for students' development, because it keeps them fit. For instance, a high school in the USA implemented a system which did not allow sugary snack adverts to be published. Surprisingly, teachers noticed a positive progress in children's behaviour, because they ate way fewer sweets during breaks. Secondly, replacing the appropriate inappropiate adverts with positive ones is not enough to persuade students to give up on their bad eating habits. Clearly, colleges can introduce fruits as treats to offer pupils a healthy alternative to sugary snacks. Moreover, schools can organise courses whose aim is to present to children the upsides of having a balanced alimentation, based on sport and food rich in vitamins. For instance, a study shows that children's attitude about fast food and sweets changed the moment they realised the amount of benefits fruits and vegetables have and started to give up on fast food. In summary, schools should normalise good eating habits by not publishing unhealthy adverts. This way they will change children's attitudes about the bad effects that fast and sugary food has.