Nowadays many people choose to be self-employee rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What is the disadvantage of being self-employee?

In this digitalization era, the trend to be self-employed has become more popular. Many people prefer to work independently rather than to work in an institution. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why this happening and the drawbacks of this issue. Many people believe that working independently gives flexible time and with the massive growth of social media lately, it makes easier for people who have the right skills to advertise their services or goods to people directly. Unlike working with a company where one has to go to the office every day, being an entrepreneur allows them to schedule their own time. For example, a housewife whose her main focus is raising her children might still have a business by selling home-made food from home without leaving their kids. Despite these advantages, the financial stability is one of the main drawbacks. In the office job, the company always gives salaries every month regardless of the financial situation. However, this doesn’t apply to the self-employee. The money comes on a daily basis depending on how much they make the sale. In addition to that, building a business or brand demands a lot of time and unfortunately, there is no guarantee that it works. A make-up artist for instance needs review and strong branding for people to trust their services, in order to do that at the beginning of the business they have to sell their services at a lower price than the market or often give them for free in exchange for good reviews. In conclusion, although being self-employed offers benefits such as flexibility in regard to time and place, it also comes with major setbacks on financial risk and high demand of time at the beginning of the business.