Some think that government should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been a controversy about whether the government should support retired people financially. I think it is necessary for the government to take care of retired people, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, the pension system fosters the re-productivity of today's labour force. Because there is a pension system, the lives of retired people are guaranteed; young people don't worry about their retired lives. Therefore, a healthy substitution process is formed; when elder people retire, young people can take over their work. At this point, such a phenomenon is advantageous to the employment structure. Second, financial support for retired people brings harmony to our society. A pension system guarantees the basic life of retired people. Besides, due to the advent of an ageing population, the ratio of elderly is getting bigger. Hence, if the government can guarantee the lives of those people, in other words, our society can be more peaceful. It's worth mentioning that a reasonable pension system is a good sign for the working population as well. They can see that their retired lives can be treated well. Third, financial support can propel the country's economic development. For example, the pension system in many countries is linked with the individuals' working efficiency. If you work hard, you can gain more pension. Such a design can stimulate workers' enthusiasm and cause them to work harder. As a result, the country's economy can be well promoted on account of improved working efficiency. On the other hand, the pension system has been a blight on the country as well. For example, due to the advent of the ageing population, the number of retired people is rising; in other words, the government need to pay them a sizeable portion of money annually. As a consequence, it can worsen the country's financial issues unquestionably. In conclusion, there are some advantages and disadvantages of supporting retired people financially.