Some think that government should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been a controversy about whether the government should support retired people financially. I think it's necessary to support those people, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, a pension system can foster the re-productivity of labour force. Because there is a pension system, the lives of retired people are guaranteed; and young people don't worry about their retired lives. Therefore, a normal substitution process is formed; when the early people retire, young people can take over their work. At this point, such a phenomenon is advantageous to the domestic employment structure. Second, financial support can bring harmony to our society. As we know, a pension system can guarantee the basic lives of retired people. Besides, due to the advent of an ageing population, the number of the aged is rising; hence, if the government can take care of those people; in other words, our society can be more peaceful. It's worth mentioning that a reasonable pension system is a good sign for the working population as well. They can see their retired people will be treated well. Third, financial support is advantageous to the country's economic development. The pension system in many countries is linked with the workers' working efficiency; thus, if you work harder, you can get more pensions when you retire. Such a design stimulates workers' enthusiasm and leads them to work more effectively. As a consequence, the country's economy can be promoted on account of improved working efficiency. On the other hand, supporting retired people financially has some drawbacks. For example, due to an ageing population around the globe, the number of retired people is rising; in other words, the government needs to pay those people a sizeable portion of money annually. As a consequence, it will bring some domestic financial issues and hinders the country's economic development. In conclusion, there are some advantages and disadvantages of supporting retired people financially.