In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In recent years, the prevalence of long working hours has become increasingly common in some countries. This trend can be attributed to a combination of economic pressures and heightened job demands. I contend that the proliferation of extended work hours carries more detrimental implications than advantages. First of all, there are two main reasons why people have to spend more time at work. One important factor is that the higher living costs, especially in large metropolises force adults to work longer hours to meet their financial obligations and support their families. For example, working parents often struggle with the education fees of their children and the costs of accommodation, food, and healthcare services, which make them work extra hours to earn money. Another reason is that in today's competitive market, companies always compete against their opponents to attract more customers, which requires their employees to work beyond the standard eight hours a day, especially during peak reasons. As a result, people have to sacrifice private time and stay at their offices to accomplish their assigned tasks. Although working longer hours can help people earn a great deal of money and improve their overall well-being, I strongly believe that the detrimental consequences of prolonged work hours should not be underestimated. First and foremost is the toll on one's physical and mental health. Research has consistently shown that excessive work hours are associated with heightened stress levels, sleep deprivation, and various stress-related ailments. The human body and mind require adequate rest and relaxation to function optimally, and extended work hours erode this essential balance. Another concern is that it is hard for parents to take care of and supervise their children when working throughout the day. This could increase the likelihood of juvenile crime due to the lack of parental involvement. In conclusion, it seems to me that the increase in living costs and amount of workload have a great contribution to extending the working hours of most employees nowadays. I argue that this phenomenon could bring about more devastating consequences on the health and family of each person.