Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that the government should invest more money in the construction of railways, instead of building roads. In my opinion, I think It is reasonable to fund more money on building new railways, while I disagree with the view that the resources and materials allocated on roads should be decreased. There are several reasons why more money should be spent on railways. Firstly, railways can connect towns and villages in different provinces, and the goods transportation on a large scale could be achieved by using trains. Secondly, railways, especially high-speed railways, contribute to a faster movement of people. For example, it takes nearly 5 hours from Shanghai to Nanjing by car, while it takes only 1.5 hours by taking high-speed trains. Finally, the construction of railways could provide a huge amount of workplaces, which helps to reduce the level of local unemployment. However, the amount of money invested in building roads should not be adjusted to a lower level. Some regions are restricted by some geographic factors, for example, mountains and rivers, which makes the construction of railways extremely expensive. Besides, people who live in extreme property may not afford the price of taking trains, for the faster speed of railways requires a higher level of price. As a result, the importance of road transportation should not be ignored, for it provides a cheaper approach to the movements of people. In conclusion, I think governments could fund more money on building new railways, but the amount of money allocated for road construction should not be decreased.