Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views whether an advertisement is a successful way of persuading people to buy things or it is so normal that people usually neglect it. This essay discusses both thoughts of advertising, and I believe that launching an advertisement is quite useful in selling things when used properly. On the one hand, there are various reasons why some people may argue that advertising is so common for not catching one’s eyes. Firstly, an advertisement can be seen almost everywhere, no matter when people walking on the streets or browsing on the Internet. If there are no differences between other’s ads, people may have little chance to distinguish them. Moreover, some people will seem quite annoying when keep seeing the things they do not need. In other words, people will not pay attention to it, and often overlook its existence. For instance, when watching a TV program, people tend to change channels or do other things when it comes to advertising time. On the other hand, I believe some advertisements are quite persuasive when targeting to the right customers. For example, if a person has a demand of buying a sofa, and the furniture-related ads keep appearing while he is searching on the Internet. This may lead to a higher opportunity for this customer to buy something through advertising. With additional attractive functions or discounts, it is likely that customers would buy the product, and even other items they are interested in. In conclusion, I would support the idea that advertising is a vital method of persuading others for buying things when the company has targeted to the right person who they want to sell things to.