Not enough students choose science subjects at universities in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What’s the effect on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the number of students that choose science subjects at university is insufficient. In this essay, we will discuss the sheer difficulty of scientific disciplines being the main reason and as a direct consequence of this the neglect of research will have a profound effect on society. Seeing that not many scholars choose science subjects as their tertiary education, we will try to understand the reasons. The principal reason for rejecting this branch of study is the difficulty. For example, a lot of undergraduates reject choosing physics or mathematics as a result of the difficulty of these subjects. As a consequence of the laboriousness of the science disciplines, a lot of students choose to not get involved and prefer to study other themes unrelated to the scientific path, like arts or philosophy, that are more simplistic. Science subjects are not favoured amongst undergraduates these days. Consequently, the aftermath in our society will be that the professionals in the scientific field will be scarcer. A classic example of that is the lack of professional research in scientific fields, like biology or physics. As a result of the shortfall of these trained personnel, the discoveries and investigation in the affected fields will be slow and, in some cases, non-existent. Thus, this will influence our capacity to develop new technologies and knowledge. The lack of students in the scientific branch of studies as a result of the difficulty of this topic in the universities will have an important impact on our society, slowing our future research in the scientific field and, due to this lack of exploration, we will see a deficit of development in our future.