Some people think that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit cultural and tourist attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree with this view.

It is often argued that overseas tourists should be charged more to visit historical buildings than the indigenous communities. I completely disagree with this view because everyone has equal rights to see this and they have come from a far place and already spent a heavy amount in travelling. To begin, historical sites are not personal properties so everyone has equal rights on it. These are the assets of mankind. No single government or nation can categorically say they have a complete right on it. If the local people pay less as a entry price, this is complete an unfair practise due to the fact that travellers from all over the world have same rights like them. To illustrate, the 36 storied- building, Cocoa house was constructed by the profit generated by Nigerian farmers and it has being a major tourists attraction about 6decades ago, however ticket price is same for both the local and foreigners. Hence, due to human rights there should be same entry prices for these. Furthermore, travellers come from a different country and spend an enormous amount to reach these places. They pay a huge amount to take flights and cabs. Moreover, they spend a substantial amount for accommodation too. If again a more price is asked for entry to these places, this is not justified. The role of the government is to incentivise tourists to travel again but not to demotivate them. A double or more price than local residents is source of discouragement. For instance, a recent research reveals that international visitors do not prefer those places which charge double entry prices from foreigners. Therefore, they already had paid huge charges to finally reach their destination, in view of this, same price will motivate them to visit again. In conclusion, asking a more price from tourists from different regions is not a conducive decision because they already paid huge expenses and it is the right of everyone to gain access to these buildings.