Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In this 21st century, people rely on advanced technology, which makes people closely connected. From my perspective, technology has a positive impact on people's relationships. Let me illustrate my viewpoints in the below paragraphs. First of all, people can keep in close contact with their loved ones without any boundaries. Currently, people prefer to send instant messages or video calls with their friends via WhatsApp. Compare with past decades, people need to make an international call or send a letter to contact their overseas friends and relatives that is unable to express their feeling immediately that is involved the consideration of cost and time constraints. Because technology has been improved, we can use our smartphones to make WhatsApp calls without any cost involved. Hence, people are more willing to keep in contact with their overseas friends and relatives from time to time without considering cost and time constraints. Therefore, the relationship can stay as usual. Secondly, businessmen can have any official meeting with clients even in countries that lift travel restriction policies. Thus, the business can still work as usual. During the pandemic, many companies adopted a work-at-home policy, which created a certain difficulty for businesses to consider how to run their businesses with a limited effect. Nowadays, people are heavily reliant on the internet and smartphones, as long as we have a computer and internet. It is proven that employees still can perform their duties without any constraints. Furthermore, most businessmen might need to number of meetings with their clients. Because the technology has been improved, we can consider using virtual conferences, such as Zoom or go-to-meeting tools, which can replace physical meetings with clients. Using virtual meetings can achieve cost-effectively and reduce emissions by aeroplanes. In conclusion, I do believe that technology development has brought us many conveniences to our daily life no matter of our personal or business perspectives. We do hope that continuous technology development can bring a number of merits to enhance our quality of life.