The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, the number of automobiles on British roads has increased. Some people believe that there will be approximately 29 million vehicles by the year 2000, which made them argue that there should be a replacement for cars and an international law to control car ownership and use. This essay agrees with the notion above because reducing the number of cars on roads will clear the air pollution and make the roads safer for cyclers. To begin with, one of the main causes of air pollution is cars, which use fuel to operate. This substance is actually very dangerous to our planet because it creates carbon emissions that harm the ozone. This is why reducing the number of cars can contribute to cleaning the environment. For instance, Japan has the lowest amount of carbon emissions because most of the people there commute with public transportation. Not only it will benefit our planet, but it can also make cyclers ride their bike freely because they will have more space on the roads and they do not have to be so careful and afraid of having traffic incidents. For example, there was research conducted by Indonesian journalists a few years ago, they said that most cyclers in Indonesia do not have enough space for them to actually ride their bikes. In conclusion, this essay stands with the notion that it is better to remove cars on the roads because they have impacted the environment and reducing the number of them can help cyclers to bike safely.