To be labeled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labeled 'masterpieces' whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions that the quality of prize-winning artwork has been declining, and true works of art have been unnoticed. I disagree with this view, I will discuss my viewpoints in this essay. Firstly, the taste of art is very personal, the art labeled as a masterpiece does not mean everyone agrees with it. For example, Picasso is a world-renowned painter, however, many people still think his paintings are like three-year-old children. That can show people have different definitions of art, therefore, the viewpoint that artwork's quality has been declining is incorrect, since the standard of artistic taste is highly subjective. Secondly, Art changes with time. Every period has its own trend of artwork, and the materials of art keep changing over centuries. In the early century, artists used oil, and contemporary art used mixed materials to represent their thoughts. Thus, there is no correct answer to define what is a true work of art, meanwhile, that is no standard to compare which art is better, or whether art is declining or not, all art in every period could be true works of art. In conclusion, I believe the taste of art is individual and each period has its own trend, hence, I disagree with the view about the quality of prize-winning artwork, people should have a more open mind to appreciate art, not put art into a narrow frame.