Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that some socially serious issues may cause when people live in countries where they have to use a different language. While I agree with the point of view that using a foreign language may lead to some difficulties, I do not think that problems caused by this language barrier can not be tackled. Some difficulties appear when individuals are forced to use the language that they are not familiar with. New immigrants may feel very hard to communicate with local people, for they may not master a new language very well, and they can not understand the meaning of some words. Also, the cultural difference between the two countries may induce social problems. For example, the word 'that' in Chinese sounds like 'nigger' in English. If a negro in China hears this word without knowing the meaning of this word in advance, he may feel insulted, and a conflict may happen. However, this kind of language barrier is solvable. People can understand the meaning of a foreign word by using a language translator, and with the help of this modern device, direct communications with the local community can also be achieved easily. Also, people can choose to live in communities that they are familiar with. For example, immigrants from China can live in Chinatowns in the UK. By living with people with the same tongue, those newcomers can understand the cultural differences between China and UK gradually, which contributes to fewer conflicts of culture. In conclusion, new immigrants may face some difficulties if they are not familiar with a foreign language, while these problems caused by the language barrier are solvable.