Academic Task2 Every year several languages die out. This is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this age of change, various languages facilitate national or global lingua franca cross-cultural communication. For example Hindi, English and so on. On account of that multiple languages have become dwindled, which is not important in someone's opinion because life will be easier with a minimal number of languages. However, I disagree with this idea due to the fact of following reasons. The disappearance of lesser-known languages leads to a range of issues. First of all, the expansion of the English language erodes the cultural identity of other races. More specifically, the prevalence of English can aggravate the sense of cultural inferiority among speakers of other languages. In the second place, the diminishing of old languages causes the loss of traditional values or cultures. For instance, Latin is already an extinct accent now because nearly nobody can speak this language in this world at the moment; therefore, the culture of Latin is almost lost. Finally, loss of cultures could result in loss of heritage such as traditional ethics and norms. For example, some cultures highly value family and education; consequently, if those cultures are lost, many important and beneficial values will also be rendered obsolete, which is not helpful. Admittedly, life can be easier if people speak fewer languages in contemporary. Nevertheless, translators and interpreters will lose their jobs if more and more languages die out, which is inadequate for the global economy. Therefore, it is clear that more languages generate more employment opportunities. In conclusion, although English as a universal language enables cross-culture, the importance of other languages should not be ignored. As a consequence, I would claim that languages other than English must be respected,protected and preserved.