In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some criminal trials can be totally transparent to the public via TV or other media in some counties. While this may have some positive effects on society, the negative influence is bigger than that. The first disadvantage is that the details of the case may give potential criminals more ideas about committing a crime since they know this way has worked before. Secondly, during the trial, both victims' and criminals ' personal and family information must be exposed to the public. This is the secondary victimization of victims and their family members, and it is also torturous to criminals ' families. Furthermore, the judge's decision might be affected by public opinion. For example, some famous offenders, such as celebrities, may have more support from their fans, and their support may change the judge's mind when announcing the decision. However, there are still some advantages of the public trial which cannot be overlooked. The serious consequence and punishment may deter the potential criminals who think the cost of crime is not high. And people, especially children, who pay attention to the trials can gain more legal knowledge and how the legal system works. A fair trial can make them trust in law and government, and understand that the law is a useful weapon to protect them. Besides, these transparent trials and the case details can become an alert for individuals, which can tell them what kind of situation might be a potential crime scene and prevent them from possible offenders。 In conclusion, although the advantages exist, there are more downsides that may cause problems for society.