Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? – Disagree -

It is argued by some individuals that kids are able to achieve effective learning from watching television, additionally they think that little ones should be exposed to TV not only at home but also in schools. Although I agree that there are various benefits for kids that have early exposure to tv programs both in class rooms and out, conversely I strongly think that there should be a time limit for the latter. As the technological boom develops globally, our newer generations are always in the demand for adaptation. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see the use of devices such as Ipads, Iphones and SmartTV accessible for children from a very young age. There are many educational content that can help struggling parents, such as full-time workers to engage their kids in a learning environment. For example, sometimes mothers are able to do their chores while their baby watches a literacy lesson on the TV. In that manner, they can learn and also give the career some free time. On the other hand, children sitting in front of a screen for prolonged periods is a problematic situation. For instance, it is also important for them to have human interaction to enable them to get social skills developed. Furthermore, the amount of time also should be limited to a maximum of 1 hour per day otherwise it can cause more harm than good. Currently, many studies have proven that excessive radiation can cause early eye-sight problems in children that stay too long in front of machines. For this reason, I do not agree totally with the statement above. However, I do think that there can be benefits in a controlled situation, such as in classrooms. In summary, I agree that the use of television to entertain and educate youngsters can be beneficial to all parties. Although it is of extreme importance for a responsible adult to be around to reinforce boundaries and provid timely periods.