Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Examinations constitute an important part of education undoubtedly. There are many ways for evaluating students knowledge such as regular projects, multiple coursework, and final examinations. Some believe that a final examination is a better way of assessment although I suppose that regular projects and completing coursework are a more efficient means of examination. In the forthcoming paragraphs, obvious reasons and evidence will be demonstrated. Firstly, Continual examinations will provide students with more time and atmosphere to prove their knowledge and ability. In fact, a regular testing method let students think about problems and projects in a predefined time frame which is not usually less than a couple of days, whereas in formal examinations the candidates just have a couple of hours to prove themselves. In addition, due to having more time, they are free to search and investigate the project which leads them to learn the ways of approaching an issue. Meantime, many successful employees who have been recruited by large companies had never got remarkable grades in their final examinations. In fact, they had significant experience in accomplishing continual projects and coursework. Secondly, the more students complete projects in a lecture, the better they are evaluated. In fact, as the number of projects increases, more areas in a specific lesson can be covered. In other words, the formal assessment just provides the students with a limited number of questions that can not evaluate their entire knowledge of them. Thus, regular homework can help both instructors and students to find the areas that are not comprehended properly during the semester and consequently they can put more effort to cover those subjects Lastly, Coursework is usually done as a teamwork assessment which not only helps the instructor evaluate students ’ activity as team members but also puts those students in a condition in which they can learn about flexibility and team success. To illustrate more, in this modern world, there is nothing more important than having the ability to work as a team member in doing tasks and projects in a company. Thus, if the continual coursework and the results of a team project are counted as the main way of measuring students knowledge and skills, all the students will put effort wisely and consciously to lead the project to succeed. Consequently, they learn how to be flexible and responsible in their job which induces them to succeed in the future. In conclusion, there are many ways for evaluating students. Some of them are not really efficient such as final assessment, whereas the others which involve the students during the semester would result in a better evaluation.