In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extend do you think is a positive trand?

Shopping is something that has to be done whether one enjoys it or not to get the essentials needed. While some people consider it to be part of a basic routine task, others favour it to be as their one of the favourite pass-time. This essay will argue why purchasing should be restricted to mundane domestic jobs and not as a hobby. With better employment and an increase in income, the buying power of individuals has increased. This has led to escalating secondary demands and thus a rise in expenditure forcing people to buy unnecessary stuff. For instance, studies show that the young generation spends a two- third amount of their earned salary in shopping malls buying superfluous garments or applications. They contemplate this activity to keep them updated with respect to the latest fashion and trends, thus making it a hobby. On the contrary, the disadvantages of building shopping as a keen interest are many. Firstly, too much spending on credit leads to cash and savings deficits. Young people have fewer responsibilities and thus have the opportunity to save and invest more money. Secondly, these funds can be utilized in their later life when they want to buy a house or opt for higher studies, thus, avoiding the burden of bank loans and interest. As a result, spending minimum and only on routine products contributes to larger reserves for an individual. To sum up, having considered the discussion above, I believe that there will be always positive and negative impacts, but the shopping habits of a person can play useful if the shoppers avoid developing it as their hobby.