Many people these days rely on traditional medicines rather than going to doctors. What are the causes? Is this a positive or negative development?

Despite the huge development of medicine which has been going on during the last decades, many people still do not trust it. Such people prefer to use traditional medicines than go to the doctor. Their behaviour may be caused by fear as well as the lack of trust in science and constitutes an example of negative development. Many people do not trust the science. As a result, they are scared to use new forms of drugs or medical treatment which they believe can have a negative impact on their health. A great example of such people are the anti-vaccine campaigners who claim that a vaccination can lead to either death or serious harm. Therefore, they are trying to avoid professional medicines in favour of the traditional ones made of natural ingredients which, unfortunately, are less effective. A lack of trust in professional medicines is a serious problem in the nowadays world. The people who refuse specialised treatment constitute a threat to both themselves and the rest of society. To illustrate this, I will use an example of the propaganda of anti-vaccine campaigners that have been on the fore during the pandemic of COVID-19. Many people refuse to get vaccinated, consequently, not only endangering their lives but also others. In conclusion, the most significant causes of using traditional medicine are the lack of trust in science as well as the fear of the new forms of drugs. Such behaviour constitutes a serious threat to the whole society as it may endanger people like during the pandemic of COVID-19.