Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Recently, the debatable view of whether students should be selected based on their academic results has risen in the public's eyes. While some say it is beneficial for schools to pick students according to their achievements, others think it may cause inefficiencies. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss my views and make a judgement. To embark upon, an old saying of if you lie down with dogs, you get up with flees suggests institutions should pick students according to their grades considering elite students may be negatively affected if they start to hang out with friends with lower achievements. Nevertheless, as soon as students with mixed abilities are allocated into a class, the teaching schedule will be affected. An example would be a student with excellent academic ability who may understand a complex theory in 5 minutes, whereas those less granted may require a longer time. Resulting in delays in classrooms. Yet, some argue that diverted abilities provide the opportunity for classmates to learn from each other. Because some students are weaker than others, those with higher competence could support those with difficulties. Resulting in an interactive learning environment which boosts the productivity of students exponentially. Furthermore, the competitiveness between students will be boosted when students of different levels study together. For instance, the higher achievers would work harder as they do not want to be surpassed by others, on the other hand, the weaker students would try to outpace their classmates with better skills. All in all, after weighing both factors, I reckon pupils should learn together so that they could develop interpersonal skills through helping and asking for help.