It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Positive and negative feedback has to be implemented in young people in order to show them the importance of having appropriate behaviours and the consequences of having those that are inappropriate. Then, I staunchly believe that children and youngsters should be rewarded and punished according to their performances, respectively. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail and how the professors and parents should manage the punishments. To start with, teachers and parents are considered authority figures who should be respected by humankind. Thus, they are in charge of teaching not only children but adolescents all manners, ethics, and values which should be fulfilled in order to be part of society. As a consequence of this, many debates have been carried out to establish the proper education people should receive as well as whether punishments are required from an early age. Then, psychologists and sociologists have proved that the most crucial range of age for teaching behaviours and patterns is between 1 and 5 years old because of the development of the brain. Therefore, some penalties should be implemented as a way to show the impact of bad actions. Additionally, types of punishments to be performed among schools and households have been set by governments in order to establish boundaries and avoid severe actions. Then, it is clear that not only physical but also psychological violence is forbidden. Besides, in the case of considering punishments as a unique way of teaching, they have to be proportional to the age and the action that was committed. For instance, parents could restrict the usage of technological devices or social media, or children cannot stay outside with their friends unless they accomplish all their homework. Conversely, professors should implement community service for those who have no respect and empathy. To sum up, it is well-known and it has been proved that children should be taught from early stages to respect and follow the rules. Nevertheless, many characteristics should be taken into account to establish fair punishments by teaching the importance of having proper behaviours.